Greenfield Cattle Producer Elected to Tennessee Cattlemen’s Board

The Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association is pleased to welcome Jay Yeargin of Greenfield, TN to the TCA Board of Directors. We wanted to get to know Jay a little more, so today we feature a Q&A with him about his life, his family and his farm…
Jay Yeargin with his wife, Alice

Jay Yeargin with his wife, Alice

What is your farm history? How did you get involved?

I was born into a farming family and have grown up working on my family’s farm. I graduated from the University of Tennessee at Martin with a degree in Ag Business.  When I came back to work on the farm full time, we were able to expand our row crop acres along with increasing our cattle herd.  We currently raise beef cattle, corn, wheat, and soybeans.  Our cow/calf operation currently includes about 300 head.

My grandfather started the farm while also working  “in town” at a factory.  When my father graduated from college he was able to farm full time.  With guidance from my late grandfather and my father, I have been able to do the same.  I enjoy running the day to day operations and working with others to be an advocate for agriculture.

What is the farm like today?

Our farm consists of my wife Alice Ann and me. We are expecting our first child at the end of April.  We farm with my parents, Ronnie and Janie Yeargin.

Who is involved on the farm? 

My parents, Ronnie and Janie Yeargin are both graduates of the University of Tennessee at Martin where they met. After they were married they came back to the farm that my grandfather started.  My wife, Alice Ann Chester Yeargin is also a graduate of the University of Tennessee at Martin where we met.  She was born and raised in Athens, TN where she learned about agriculture while being on her grandparent’s dairy farm.

What kind of cattle do you raise?

We have a commercial herd of cattle with both Polled Hereford and Angus. Most of our calves are black baldies.

Why did you want to be involved in a leadership role with TCA?

I would like to advance the cattle industry in the state of Tennessee. I think that young farmers need to be more involved in leadership roles to better agriculture as a whole.  Active participation in the Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association will help me be well informed on issues facing the cattle industry.

What do you hope to accomplish during your term on the board?

While fulfilling my role, I hope to bring new ideas to the table and continue to share success strategies with other farmers.

Leave a Reply

