Tennessee Beef Council Introduces Summer Intern

The Tennessee Beef Council is happy to introduce our summer intern, Rachel Ralston. She will be helping out at our beef promotion events, working on our digital media sites, and learning to be a great beef advocate. Here is a little background on Rachel…

Rachel Ralston Head ShotMy name is Rachel Ralston and I am from the small town of Rockvale, Tennessee. I am currently a senior at the University of Tennessee at Martin where I am majoring in Agriculture Education with anticipation of becoming a high school agriculture teacher. I have been very involved with FFA and 4-H since I was a freshman in high school and have had many opportunities to see how these two groups can impact the life of young students, including my own. I participated in many competitions in both, including horse and dairy judging, as well as several leadership positions for FFA. I hope that a career in Agriculture Education will help me give back to these organizations a portion of what they have given me.

I applied for this internship at Tennessee Beef Industry Council because I have sincerely appreciated my background in cattle and I wanted to learn more! I originally grew up on a dairy farm, but have been raising beef cattle since we sold the herd in 2000. I have seen many different aspects of the production side of the industry through being raised on a cattle farm, and I jumped at the chance of learning more about the consumer side! I sought this internship opportunity because I knew it would be a way for me to learn more about beef, make connections in agriculture, as well as be an experience I could take back to the classroom when I become a teacher.

Leave a Reply

