Samantha Reese Begins Summer Internship with TN Cattlemen’s

Samantha Reese Head ShotMy name is Samantha Reese and I am the 19-year-old daughter of John and Marty Reese.  Along with my 15-year-old brother, Tanner, we live in Petersburg, TN on a small family farm.  My family, and extended family, are involved in many aspects of agriculture including dairy and beef cattle, row crops of corn, beans, wheat and tobacco.

I got started exhibiting beef cattle by helping my cousin with his show heifers and knew I would follow in his steps someday.  As I began 4-H in the fourth grade, I was able to exhibit my own cattle.  At first, I picked from our family herd of registered Angus cattle, but soon branched out to other breeds.  I got a loan to begin my own herd purchasing two heifers; one Angus and one Shorthorn heifer.  I worked to pay my loan back with show premiums and offspring I could sell.  As I paid one loan off, I got another to continue growing my herd of registered purebred and crossbred cattle.

My brother and I have been blessed to be able to travel to many states showing at the local, state, and national levels.  I also showed pigs and lambs and began raising chickens and selling eggs during high school.   I was active in 4-H and FFA events through high school participating in livestock judging, meat judging, public speaking, and job interview.  I was named State FFA Proficiency winner for Beef Entrepreneurship and Diversified Livestock.  I am also a member of several breed organizations, serving on the state junior boards for Simmental and Shorthorn Associations.

As I graduated high school, I received a scholarship for livestock judging at Blinn College in Brenham, Texas.   I just finished my two years there where I served as Ag Club President and was selected Homecoming Queen for 2016.  I will transfer to Tarleton State University in Stephenville, Texas in August where I will finish my degree in Animal Science.

The beef industry is something I am passionate about and have always enjoyed being active in it.  I enjoy volunteer work and have continued to be active in youth events while in college teaching and showing others what I have learned.  I truly look forward to and appreciate the chance to intern at The Tennessee Cattleman’s Association this summer.

 

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

